Mango Coconut

It’s cold here in the District. Even though I’ll be back in sunny South Florida next week, I needed a taste of the tropics to get me through midterms. And nothing says “tropical” more than mangos + coconuts!

Mango + Coconut Muffins (via My Lovely Little Lunch Box)

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, plus extra to sprinkle
  • 1 cup of shredded coconut, plus extra to sprinkle
  • ¾ cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large mango, diced

Preheat oven to 350°. Place flour, baking powder, brown sugar and coconut into a large bowl and mix to combine making a well in the centre.  Place the oil, eggs, yogurt and vanilla in another bowl and whisk to combine.  Pour the wet ingredients into the well of the dry and mix until just combined.  Do not over mix.  Add mango and gently fold to combine.

Pour the mixture into the muffin cases and top each muffin with a sprinkling of brown sugar and coconut.  Pop into the oven and bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until cooked.

TIPS

  • I didn’t have any leftover brown sugar so I skipped out on topping them with that…but I’d highly recommend it if you have any!
  • Definitely make sure you have big chunks of mango. I made smaller chunks; while it’s still good I’d prefer to have bigger chunks next time.
  • Enjoy with a glass of cold milk!
  • MAJOR perk about these: no butter!